Rosemary garlic roasted potatoes

Potatoes are a staple in my house.  Red potatoes, white potatoes, purple potatoes, sweet potatoes… we love em’ all.  I tend to ignore criticism against potatoes, especially when people put them in the same category as white flour and sugar.  Potatoes grow out of the Lord’s green earth.  White flour and sugar do not.  Potatoes provide a healthy sources of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, may protect against heart disease, and aid in weight loss as they are highly satiating (source).  White flour and sugar are void of nourishment and are actually contributors to disease.  There is a huge difference.

So, unless you have a sensitivity to nightshades or have issues with insulin, potatoes can be a very hardy and healthy source of carbohydrates, as they are in my life.  That being said, I must share one of my favorite ways to cook them!

I have found that the key to getting “soft on the inside, crispy on the outside” roasted potatoes is found in the temperature of your oven.  400 degrees works well for me.  So go ahead and preheat your oven, and then gather your ingredients:

  • 7-8 medium sized red skinned potatoes
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic + extra garlic powder
  • 3 TBSP duck fat from ducks raised on pasture – buy it here (aff. link)
  • 1-2 sprigs fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • Young Living Rosemary essential oil
  • Salt

img_4934

When I found this duck fat on my last trip to the local co-op, I was elated.  Duck fat is a traditional cooking fat, and is excellent for high heat cooking.  Plus it tastes like it was made to be partnered with potatoes.

Now, chop your potatoes into cubes and toss with your duck fat, rosemary, salt to taste (I use quite a bit), chopped garlic, and garlic powder.  I used about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, but you can use more or less depending on how you want your breath to smell later – ha!

Transfer to a 9×13 inch glass or ceramic baking dish (please avoid toxic non-stick cookware!) and put it in the oven for about 25-30 minutes.  Check and toss potatoes periodically to make sure the fat continues to evenly coat them.  If they appear dry, add more duck fat.  Once the potatoes are brown around the edges and soft when poked with a fork, remove from the oven.

Now comes my secret ingredient, which I believe made all the difference in flavor: rosemary essential oil.  Fresh herbs are some of my favorite things to add to my cooking to bring the food to life.  But between the lack of rosemary still growing in my garden, and the occasional laziness I feel for chopping up those tiny little leaves, I decided to give my essential oils a go.  And boy, did it work!

Essential oils can be damaged from extremely high heat, so once my potatoes were slightly cooled, I combined 1 drop of rosemary essential oil with about 1 tbsp of avocado oil.  I then drizzled it on the potatoes and tossed them.  The flavor boost was awesome.  Essential oils are highly concentrated, so keep in mind, less is more!  More than 1 drop would have been too overpowering.

Please, please know that I do NOT recommend ingesting essential oils you find in the store.  They are often adulterated and are processed in a way that make them unfit for consumption.  Young Living is the only brand that I trust to provide a completely pure product, as they have very rigorous standards for the growing and distillation of their crops.  They also have a newly released “Vitality Line” of oils that are made specifically for cooking or supplementation.  Do not hesitate to contact me if you are interested in learning more, or giving these oils a try.

In the meantime, give these potatoes a go – and let me know how you like them!

Bon appétit!

One thought on “Rosemary garlic roasted potatoes

Leave a Reply

