The Holistic Healer

Hey!  It’s been a while.  I started writing this post about two months ago, but somehow I never got around to publishing it.  So I sat down at my computer today after work and decided that today was the day to hit “post”.  But even after I had made up my mind, I couldn’t seem to reel my thoughts in to focus.  I turned my worship station on Pandora and sat in quiet meditation for a while.  Songs of the Holy Spirit, His plans, and His goodness came on.  But I was still distracted, critical and insecure about my writing.  So I asked the Lord to let a song play on my station that was confirmation that He wanted me to post this.

Call it coincidence or divine intervention… but literally the next song that played was “Healing is Here” by Deluge.  Let’s just say, He confirmed these words that I had written two months ago:

In recent months, I have been learning to see Jesus more and more as Healer.  I have always known God as Father, Son, Holy Spirit, Creator, Provider, Giver of life, Protector, and Savior.  But only in recent months have I begun to grasp what it means for Him to be my Healer.  Maybe it’s because I never knew (or admitted) that I needed healing until now.

I’ve taken my health into my own hands so much in recent years, and it has been humbling to say the least.  After years of not knowing how to properly care for my body; after years of filling it with junk food and toxic medication, I have finally come to a place where I feel like “I know what I’m doing” when it comes to my health.  I eat from His creation, trusting that He made food perfectly from the very beginning.  I exercise in ways that energize me, strengthen me, and honor my body.  In times of sickness, I choose natural remedies to strengthen my innate immune system, instead of masking symptoms.  I have changed my cleaning and personal care products from chemical-laden concoctions to plant-based and pure.  I have learned stress management, and how things like deep breathing can decrease anxiety and even my chronic headaches.

I have discovered a holistic perspective on wellness and have seen greater health revealed in the way my body has responded to real food and natural living.  I have found doctors and dieticians who believe the same things as I do; ones who don’t think I’m crazy for believing there is a root cause to our problems that should be addressed as a first step before medical intervention; and ones who believe in the power of real food, plants, herbs and spices found in creation as a source of healing.

Just when I began to feel like I had my health under control, some issues surfaced that challenged me to release my control once again back into His hands.  Through this, He has been reminding me that no matter how hard I try and fight for health, He is the ultimate Healer.  And I still need Him.

When I dig into Scripture through a lens of health, it becomes pretty clear to me that He truly desires for us to be well.  When Jesus walked this earth, He traveled around and healed everyone He came into contact with.  I haven’t found a single story where He withholds healing from someone.  That’s pretty amazing if you think about it.

“Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom, and healing every disease and sickness among the people. News about him spread all over Syria, and people brought to him all who were ill with various diseases, those suffering severe pain, the demon-possessed, those having seizures, and the paralyzed; and he healed them.”  Matthew 4:23-24

It says He healed all of them.  Not “some” of them.  He healed ALL who came into contact with Him.  No issue was too big, and no person was too small, for the Lord to take care of.

This scripture also says that He proclaimed the good news of the Kingdom.  His ultimate goal on earth was to give us salvation and draw us into His Kingdom, right?  So why didn’t He JUST teach the good news?  Why didn’t He JUST proclaim salvation?

Why was the Good News so often paired with physical healing?

That question struck me hard the other day, so I wrote out some thoughts in response:

  • Pain and sickness are tangible reminders of our broken condition and our need for healing in all areas of life.  We can convince ourselves through therapy or meditation that we are “well” in our mind or spirit.  But once a physical ailment befalls us, there is no way to convince ourselves that we are without affliction.  When you have chronic pain or struggle with a chronic disease, the physical reminder does not allow you to deny its presence.  We all need healing somewhere, and acute or chronic physical ailments remind us of that.
  • Like I’ve said so many times before, I truly believe that He desires for us to be well.  Sickness is not from the Lord.  Pain is not from the Lord.  A few months ago, I found myself thinking “The Lord gave me ___ (affliction) to teach me ____ (lesson).”  Fill in the blanks.  But this is so twisted!  The Lord does not “give” sickness.  He may allow it, but what He gives is healing.  Healing is His will.  When we have good health, we are equipped to thrive, experience joy, and spread the good news to others.
  • Healing brings Him glory.  Healing in Scripture often resulted in praise and the proclamation of what Jesus had done.  Plants do not heal me.  The Creator of plants does.  Real food does not heal me.  The Creator of real food does.  Meditation does not heal me.  The One I meditate on does.  I do not look to the earth… the doctor… or the medicine… for the healing power.  The power comes from the One who made it all.  He is meant to be glorified through healing.
  • Healing also helps us to understand salvation.  It is a physical expression of His love and power.  He is the Healer of physical disease.  But He is also Healer of our souls.  The cross reveals the ultimate healing that is available to us, if we just believe.  He told the woman with chronic bleeding “Daughter, your faith has healed you.  Go in peace and be freed from your suffering” (Mark 5:34).  Jesus told her that faith healed her physically.  He also tells us that faith is what heals us spiritually: 

“Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my words and believes him who sent me has eternal life…” John 5:24.

He is a Holistic Healer.  He desires to heal us from sickness, from pain, from addiction, from disease, from bondage, from sin.  That is why He came.  His work on the Cross has made a way for us to receive healing and enter into life with Him.

Will you?

“Sickness can’t stay any longer; Your perfect love is casting out fear.  You are the God of all power; and it is Your will that my life is healed.”

Listen: Healing is Here by Deluge

17880440_10158580782860204_5235911809414169668_o

4 thoughts on “The Holistic Healer

  1. You have done well! Keep
    Writing and speaking for His glory. Do not allow fear to decide for you – but allow the Holy Spirit room to move to trust. Great is He in what He is doing in you and also – through you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

